Minimum Wage in Orlando

Seasoned Florida Wage & Hour Attorneys

The Fair Labor Standards Act sets mandatory minimum wage rates and requires most employees, who are known as “non-exempt,” to receive overtime pay for each hour worked over 40 in a single workweek.

Effective Jan. 1, 2017, the Florida minimum wage rests at $8.10 per hour. Employers are required to pay their workers the higher minimum wage, either federal or state. For tipped employees, Florida employers must pay a direct hourly wage of $5.08. Failure to pay this rate could results in legal repercussions.

Why Hire The Trial Professionals P.A.?

  • 100+ years collective experience
  • Millions of dollars recovered for past clients
  • Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
  • Trial professionals who know how to help
  • Highly rated and respected law firm

Now is the time to discuss your case with The Trial Professionals P.A. Call our Orlando wage and hour lawyers at (855) 375-9959.

Unpaid Wage Claims

If your employer is not paying you at least the Florida minimum wage, you may have an unpaid minimum wage claim. For example, if your employer refuses to pay you anything for you final week of work, you have been paid below the Florida minimum wage and may have a minimum wage claim.

Exceptions to Minimum Wage Law

Workers under the age of 20 may be paid no less than $4.25 per hour during their first 90 days of employment. After this introductory period, the employee must be paid at least minimum wage.

Likewise, some full-time students, apprentices, and disabled workers may be paid less than minimum wage under special circumstances outlined by the Department of Labor.

Make sure you understand your rights. Call (855) 375-9959 to set up a consultation.

Free Case Evaluation

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Contact Us